Connect with us


Bryant defeats Bentonville 36-7



Little Rock, Arkansas – The Bryant football team keeps demonstrating why it is a dynasty. The Hornets won the 7A state football championship by defeating the Bentonville Tigers 36-7.

Jordan Walker, the Hornets’ starting quarterback, played in the opening frame. The situation changed, though, when Walker threw high on a reverse ball that Bentonville’s Logan Roberson intercepted and recovered in the end zone, giving the Tigers a 7-0 lead.

In the end, Bryant changed quarterbacks. Gideon Motes, the Hornets’ backup quarterback, entered the game and, like Walker, gained yards with his legs.
In the second quarter, Motes’ 4-yard touchdown pass to Mytorian Singleton gave the Hornets a 7-7 tie.

Defensively, they continued to move things along. Bryant’s Malachi Graham, a defensive back, intercepted Bentonville’s Carter Nye and returned it 77 yards for a score, giving Bryant a 14-7 lead.

In the second quarter, the Tigers did intercept Motes, but they were unable to take advantage of it, and the Hornets continued to maintain their composure.

With less than a minute remaining in the first half, Bryant drove 96 yards in six plays to end the game. Four seconds later, Motes connected with Singleton once again for a TD throw of 26 yards, giving the Hornets a 21-7 lead.

Karter Ratliff was the recipient of a 25-yard touchdown pass from Motes in the third quarter, giving Bryant a 28-7 lead.

The deep passes kept coming, and receiver Chris Gannaway caught one for a touchdown that went for 36 yards, bringing the score to 34-7. The Hornets then added a successful two-point conversion, bringing the score to 36-7, which would be the final outcome.

“I don’t think people understand how hard we coach them and what we expect from them. My hats off to these guys and this community. Five in a row is mind-boggling. It’s something these guys will remember forever, I know I will remember it forever,” head coach Buck James said.

The Hornets have created a dynasty by not only winning five consecutive 7A state championships but also by going five seasons without suffering a loss to an in-state rival.

The winner of the game’s MVP award was Gideon Motes.

Continue Reading

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *