Connect with us


Executive order allows Arkansas tax extension for tornado-impacted areas



Little Rock, Arkansas – The state tax deadline was extended on Monday, which was excellent news for residents of tornado-affected counties of Arkansas.

The state tax filing deadline has been extended for citizens in Cross, Lonoke, and Pulaski counties, under an executive order signed by Governor Sarah Huckabee Sanders. Following the state-wide tornado outbreak on March 31, the three counties were designated disaster regions.

For Impact the Rock Day of Service, hundreds turn out to assist with tornado relief operations.

The order moves the three counties’ inhabitants’ state tax due dates from April 18 to July 31. It does away with the demand for a written request for a filing extension past July 31.

Both businesses and individual taxpayers are covered by the executive order. Relief for expected payments due between March 31 and July 31 is also included.

FEMA assistance is still accessible despite North Little Rock closing its disaster relief facility.

Additionally, the cost of a new driver’s license or identification card is waived for residents of the three counties.

The decision also waives interest and penalties for late car registration along with costs for title processing in the three counties.

Up until July 31st, the executive order is still in effect.

How tornado victims in Arkansas can replace crucial lost paperwork.

Residents of the three counties had their filing deadline already extended by the IRS to July 31. Anyone requesting an extension must now contact the IRS at 866-562-5227.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *